Flat Triggers in a 1911

I’ve had a lot of people ask me about the benefits of a flat trigger – or even if there are any.  Some people think it’s only cosmetic.  Personally, I don’t have a dog in this fight. I’ve never had one, never used one.

Hilton Yam at 10-8 Performance loves the flat trigger.

Our flat trigger has become one of our trademarks, and brings this competition tested concept into a duty ready design.  The shoe features a flat face, providing consistent trigger feel no matter where you engage the trigger. The length of pull is the same as the shortest point on a traditional “long” curved trigger.

Quack (yes, really) a 1911 collector loves him some flat trigger as well.

The theory of the flat trigger is a consistant trigger pull (feel) no matter where your finger is on the trigger itself.  Since the trigger pull on a 1911 is straight back, the flat trigger makes sense.  The trigger works well for me because my trigger finger is naturally at an angle (not perpendicular to the trigger face) and sits lower on the trigger. With a long curved trigger, my trigger finger is forced to the center and would get rubbed raw due to the angle of my finger. Flat triggers also worked well when I took a pistol class in the cold rain where I was wearing gloves.

Here’s a link to his blog post regarding flat triggers, to include quite a few pictures.

Check out all of Quack's flat-triggered 1911's

Additionally, many flat trigger users feel that they can get a higher grip on the gun and a higher grip on the trigger, providing a more accurate shooting platform.  Beware though, the flat trigger is the same length as the shortest part of the long curved trigger.

From what I’ve read, most people either claim that they are totally for function or that it’s only for looks. Entirely subjective, it seems.I guess it’s probably worth it just to try one so I can see which category I’d put myself into.

Leave a Reply

